mdWebinar: How Can We Improve the Patient Experience in Clinical Trials?

Patient retention is a huge issue when it comes to clinical trial success, and some trial designers will even factor in a dropout rate as high as 30% when budgeting and planning for a trial.

In the third of our series of mdWebinars on July 9, our panel will discuss the reasons why patients drop out and what can be done to reduce the burden of trial participation for patients, and improve patient engagement and retention.

Register now

Our moderator, Valeria Nicoli-Carr, VP, Patient Engagement and Recruitment, mdgroup, will facilitate discussion and debate among our panellists:

Andrew Schorr, Patient Power

Andrew Schorr, Co-founder and President at Patient Power LLC

Andrew Schorr is co-founder of PatientPower.info and living with two blood cancers. He has been in two clinical trials, one that saved his life, and an another that discovered a second cancer early and matched him with a newly approved medicine. He is very grateful. Andrew’s team reaches more than 250,000 people affected by cancer each month. Many express interest in trials and become strong advocates for the full range of treatment opportunities that could be right for them.

Carole Scrafton, FibroFlutters

Carole Scrafton, Co-founder and Chair, FibroFlutters

Carole Scrafton is CEO of fibroflutters.com  and Global Social Media Network & Co-founder and Founding Five member of FibroFlutters Community Support. Carole is a Health, Patient, Research & Pharma advocate related to chronic /invisible/rare illnesses; Patient Partner with PFMD & Freelance researcher with Envision Pharma Group; and a patient speaker & author. She advocates for a multi-disciplinary approach to all aspects of medical healthcare and for better clinical trial education & processes for people with chronic/invisible/rare illnesses and multiple chronic conditions, where an all-stakeholder approach is utilised to create better outcomes for all, not just patients.

Nuala Ryan

Nuala Ryan, Clinical Research Consultant

Nuala Ryan has experience as both a cancer patient and in the clinical trial industry, so has a perspective from both sides. She is a graduate of the Irish Platform for Patient Organisation Science and Industry (IPPOSI) Patient Education course, part of the Irish National EUPATI Platform, participated in research trials and has numerous patient advisory boards and panels. She also has 27 years of experience working in clinical research in Contract Research Organisations.

Register now

Join the discussion on July 9 at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST /17:00 CEST. If you can’t join us at that time, you can still register and view the recording following the event.

If you have a question you’d like to ask the panel, please email [email protected] before July 9 – or you’ll have the opportunity to raise it during the live webinar.